Quick Answer: What is decanates in astrology?

In astrology, a decan is the subdivision of an astrological sign (zodiac sign). … Each sign is allocated a triplicity, consisting of three of the four classical elements air, water, earth or fire, and is therefore subdivided into three equal parts of 10 degrees each; these parts are referred to as decans or decanates.

What does 1st Decan mean?

Decans are then created by dividing those 30 degrees in each sign into 10-degree increments. … Approximately the first ten days of your sign is the first decan, approximately the second ten days of your sign is the second decan, and approximately the third ten days is the third decan.

How do you calculate Decan?

To find your decan, you must determine what set of days of your zodiac sign you were born in. Each zodiac sign covers a span of thirty days. The first ten days of any sign is the first decan. The second ten days the second decan and the last ten days the third.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Which zodiac signs are leaders?

What is my rising Decan?

The first decan is between 0-10 degrees. … If your rising is in a water sign, you will have a Pisces, Cancer, or Scorpio decan. If your rising is in an air sign, you will have a Gemini, Libra, or Aquarius decan. If your rising is in an earth sign, you will have a Taurus, Virgo, or Capricorn decan.

What are the 36 Decans?

The decans (/ˈdɛkənz/; Egyptian bꜣktw or baktiu, “[those] connected with work”) are 36 groups of stars (small constellations) used in the ancient Egyptian astronomy. They rose consecutively on the horizon throughout each earth rotation.

Are Decans important?

It’s all about the degrees

Decans are a nifty way of breaking down the qualities of each individual sign by separating each one into thirds of ten degrees each. Every sign will have three Decans and each Decan has a planetary ruler which becomes the co ruler of that particular sign.

How long is a Decan?

In astrology, a decan is the subdivision of an astrological sign (zodiac sign). In order to give fuller interpretation to the zodiac signs, ancient astrologers subdivided each sign into periods of approximately ten days.

How do you calculate degrees in astrology?

How To Find A Specific Degree On Your Own Natal Chart

  1. Each sign is 30 degrees each. 12 x 30 degrees = 360 degrees. …
  2. Now this is where most people get confused. …
  3. There are 12 houses of varying size. …
  4. (10 degrees Sag is in the 6th House, 1 degree Aqua is in the 8th House, and 8 degrees Taurus is in the 11th House)
IT IS INTERESTING:  How can I increase my horoscope wealth?


How do I calculate my ascendant?

As we all know that Zodiac Belt contains 12 Zodiac Signs. One of them will always arise on the eastern horizon at the time of birth. All the zodiac signs are measured 30 degree each. Hence Rising Sign or Ascendant is also of 30 degree.

What do degrees mean in astrology?

Yes, the degrees in an astrology chart do matter; as a matter of fact, you could say that astrology is the geometry of the heavens. Your birth chart is laid out on a 360°circle. The circle is divided into twelve sign divisions of 30° each. … There are degrees of separation called aspects and degrees of orb.

How often do ascendant signs change?

The Ascendant changes every two hours, which is why it’s so important to have an accurate time of birth when interpreting a birth chart.

How do I know my rising sign without birth time?

If you do not know your birth time, use 12:00 pm (noon) and the location which you were born. The Rising Sign is the sign on the 1st house cusp of your personal horoscope. This is the face you wear in public, how others see you, and your Astrological Mask.

What is my descendant sign?

The Descendant Sign in the Birth Chart is the opposite sign of your Ascendant, or that which was descending under the horizon at the exact moment of your birth.

Do Decans apply to moon signs?

Decans mostly apply to sun signs, but they do influence to a lesser extent the rest of the planets in a natal chart. If you wish to interpret, say, your moon’s decan, simply look at the degree and translate the appropriate description below into moon territory – emotions, instincts, and needs.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Which zodiac sign can you not trust?

Why does the zodiac calendar go to 36?

This means that the first ten days of the sign of Aries is the purest Arian decan, the following ten days lends some qualities from Leo, the second fire sign in order, and finally the third decan has some affinity with Sagittarius. …

What are the three Decans of Pisces?

Pisces Decans

  • Pisces – Pisces February 19 – February 29 – 1st Pisces Decan.
  • Pisces – CANCER March 1 – March 10 – 2nd Pisces Decan.
  • Pisces – Scorpio March 11 – March 20 – 3rd Pisces Decan.


Happy Witch