No, spiritual weapon doesn’t target a creature. A spell must be capable of targeting only one creature to be eligible to be twinned. Casting Spiritual Weapon doesn’t target anyone.
Can spiritual weapon attack twice?
Since you have only one bonus action per turn and the casting time of Spiritual Weapon is a bonus action, you can only use it to attack once in the turn when you cast it. Then in subsequent turns you can use your bonus action to have it move and attack. It’s only once.
Can you target a spiritual weapon?
Spiritual weapon claims that you make a melee spell attack against a target adjacent to your spiritual weapon. The rules for attacking while being unseen state that if the target cannot see you, you gain advantage on your attack against them.
Can you occupy the same space as spiritual weapon?
A spiritual weapon doesn’t pass through walls. It also doesn’t occupy its space; it’s not a creature, and it’s not described as being large enough to fill its space.
Can you twin witch bolt?
If i remember correctly, Twinned can only be used on a spell that has a single target. Twinned Witch Bolt should work, as you are only casting the spell once, but modifying it to target two creatures.
Does spiritual weapon go away when you die?
Yes. The weapon stays around if you fall unconscious, but since it requires a bonus action from you to do anything, it just floats there doing nothing. Yes, it is not a concentration spell, so getting hit, falling unconscious, even dying do not end the duration of the spell.
Can you move spiritual weapon without attacking?
You are correct. Your players are confusing making an attack with taking the Attack action. Your point 4, by the way, is imprecise – you can move the spiritual weapon, and attack with it, using your bonus action; it’s irrelevant if it’s alongside the Attack action or not.
Can you move spiritual weapon and cast a spell?
The turn you cast spiritual weapon, you can’t cast any other non-cantrip spells.
Can spiritual weapon crit?
Spiritual Weapon produces an effect that appears as your deity’s favored weapon and uses the crit range and multiplier of that weapon. It uses the caster’s BAB to attack and to determine if it gets multiple attacks after the first round.
Does spiritual weapon count as a magical weapon?
It is not a weapon. It is a 2nd level spell whose effect resembles a weapon. The Rakshasa is immune. Each of these has to be decided on a case by case basis and ultimately this is a DM call.
Does spiritual weapon give flanking?
The spiritual weapon is not a person, not a character, and not an ally. It’s a spell effect. It doesn’t take attacks of opportunity or flank.
Can you smite with spiritual weapon?
Other than the above, there’s no way to apply Divine Smite to spells, and that’s for good reason – it would be quite overpowered to allow it; Divine Smite is already incredibly powerful, and its only limitations are that it can only be applied to weapon attacks, which don’t become as powerful as many spells, and it …
Why is witch Bolt bad?
Witch Bolt is borderline useless. Its range is so short that enemies can leave it in a single turn unless someone reduces their speed. The fact that it ends if you don’t continue to use your action on it makes it very inflexible. The arc of lightning makes you an obvious target to all enemies.
Can witch bolts crit?
The initial Witch Bolt cast requires an attack roll so it can crit. However, the ongoing damage in subsequent turns is automatic and has no attack roll, so it cannot crit.
Can you twin spell scorching ray?
First Post. This is covered in the PHB Errata. “To be eligible for Twinned Spell, a spell must be incapable of targeting more than one creature at the spell’s current level.” So, no, you can’t twin Magic Missile or Scorching Ray.