What are the Jesuit Spiritual Exercises?

The Spiritual Exercises of Ignatius of Loyola (Latin original: Exercitia spiritualia), composed 1522–1524, are a set of Christian meditations, contemplations, and prayers written by Ignatius of Loyola, a 16th-century Spanish priest, theologian, and founder of the Society of Jesus (Jesuits).

What does spiritual exercise mean?

The Spiritual Exercises of St. Ignatius Loyola are a means of opening oneself to the work of God in one’s life. … When we speak of Ignatius “receiving” the Exercises from God, what we really mean is that he paid close attention to the way in which God led him, like a patient teacher, to growing faith and freedom.

What are the steps of Ignatian Spirituality?

The Daily Examen

  • Prepare your heart and mind. Center yourself by lighting a candle or taking a few deep breaths. …
  • Review the day with gratitude. Think back through the events of your day, noting the joys and delights. …
  • Pay attention to your emotions. …
  • Select a part of your day to pray over. …
  • Pray for tomorrow.
IT IS INTERESTING:  How do you connect with your lover spiritually?


What is the Jesuit examen?

The Examen: A Daily Prayer

St. Ignatius Loyola’s Examen is an opportunity for peaceful daily reflective prayer. It invites us to find the movement of God in all the people and events of our day. The Examen is simply a set of introspective prompts for you to follow or adapt to your own character and spirit.

What are the Ignatian principles?

General principles

Their original objective was the question of the choice of a state of life. The Ignatian process of making good decisions acknowledges that decisions are often between two goods, understanding that the better good, or “the more” (lat. magis), is what we instinctively want, and what God wants for us.

What are the four weeks of spiritual exercises?

The Exercises are divided into four “weeks” of varying length with four major themes: sin and God’s mercy, episodes in the life of Jesus, the passion of Jesus, and the resurrection of Jesus together with a contemplation on God’s love.

How do Christians strengthen their spirits?

Praying in the Spirit

When we give our tongue over to the Holy Spirit to pray through us, our spirit is strengthened by His presence. Praying in the Spirit is praying according to the will of God. It may set us free, especially when deliverance is not an option.

What are the 7 steps of discernment?

There are seven steps of discernment to be followed that include identifying the issue, taking time to pray about the choice, making a wholehearted decision, discussing the choice with a mentor and then finally trusting the decision made.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Best answer: How do we develop spiritual gifts?

Why is spiritual discernment important?

And your inner wisdom or inner truth provides you with the needed discernment about every issue. It is through trusting and listening intently to your inner guide, that you will ultimately make choices that lead you to more joy, more happiness and more fulfillment in your life.

How do you discern Ignatian?

Pondering and noticing interior movements of attraction and heaviness are at the heart of Ignatian discernment. Discernment involves prayer and weighing facts and feelings about the several good choices which ultimately leads to a choice about what is the best fit for an individual.

What are the six Jesuit values?

What are the Jesuit values of education?

  • Cura Personalis. Jesuit education emphasizes the view that each person is a unique creation of God. …
  • Discernment. …
  • Finding God in all things. …
  • Magis . …
  • Reflection. …
  • Service rooted in justice and love. …
  • Solidarity and kinship.

What is the difference between a Catholic and a Jesuit?

A Jesuit is a member of the Society of Jesus, a Roman Catholic order which includes priests and brothers — men in a religious order who aren’t priests. St. … More Jesuits live at Loyola than at other Jesuit universities, such as Santa Clara University, which houses 47 Jesuits, according to its website.

What does Jesuit mean?

1 : a member of the Roman Catholic Society of Jesus founded by St. Ignatius Loyola in 1534 and devoted to missionary and educational work. 2 : one given to intrigue or equivocation.

What are the 4 pillars of Ignatian Spirituality?

Beginning with the life of St. Ignatius of Loyola, this course explores the pillars of Ignatian spirituality including the Spiritual Exercises, prayer and contemplation, the Examen, and discernment.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do you cast spells in Talisman?

What is the Ignatian prayer?

Ignatian Contemplation is prayer with Scripture. It is meeting God through story. The prayer develops as you “live into” a Scripture story with all your senses and imagination. You become a participant in the story, and you continue in the story in your heart, mind, imagination, spirit and body after the reading ends.

What do the Jesuits believe?

The Jesuits are an apostolic religious community called the Society of Jesus. They are grounded in love for Christ and animated by the spiritual vision of their founder, St. Ignatius of Loyola, to help others and seek God in all things.

Happy Witch